The “Rocky Mountain” Region

rocky-mountains-map-north-america-i3NAI Region 7 covers a vast area from the deserts of the Southwestern U.S. to the frozen (at least for a few more years) North including Alberta, Northwest Territories, and Saskatchewan (Canada), along with the U.S. States of Montana, Wyoming, Utah, portions of Idaho, Colorado and New Mexico.

It is this mountain range that defines our region. Even if you’re not close enough to get a good look at those jagged peaks in the distance, you can bet it’s played a role in the natural and cultural history of your interpretive site. We see it in the silt that flows onto the Great Plains,  the colossal towers of rock that were (at one time) formidable barriers to “westward expansion”, and the various ecosystems and organisms that have adapted to life at all levels of this massive geological feature.

From north to south, Canada to the U.S., interpreters working in the figurative shadow of the Rockies are grappling with fostering understanding and appreciation in a fast-changing world.  Our special places–and how they are experienced–are changing along with the climate, new technologies, and stakeholder interests.  NAI (and Region 7 by extension) aims to help interpreters everywhere rise to the challenge.

One Response to The “Rocky Mountain” Region

  1. Nice, thanks for including Canadian landscapes in your intro. One quibble; the Northwest Territories are not a province, they are a territory, which is constitutionally different.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s