Welcome to 2017

szgraggenHello and happy 2017! I want to introduce myself and welcome you to what I hope will be an exciting new year. My name is Suzanne Zgraggen, and I am the new director of the Rocky Mountain Region (Region 7). When no one was nominated for Region leadership in last year’s elections, NAI Deputy Director Paul Caputo asked for volunteers in the Region meeting at the National Conference in Corpus Christi. Long story short, here I am! I am excited to be here for you and to get things going.

A little about me: I am the Academic and Community Programs Manager at Utah’s Hogle Zoo in Salt Lake City, Utah. I have been an interpreter for 17 years and I am currently a CIG and CIGT. I went to school to be a high school biology teacher, but went into informal education because I was a docent at the zoo while going to college and I leapt at the chance to work here. At the zoo I manage the statewide school outreach program and staff, all of our Scout programs, and all of our adult programs. I met my husband while working at the Zoo and we have two small boys, ages 3 and 9 months. My hobbies usually include reading books and doing origami, but right now mainly consist of being the mother to two small boys.

Other FAQs: My last name is Swiss-German and is pronounced skraggen. Don’t worry, I didn’t really think it was a real last name the first time I saw it, either.

I want to extend a big thanks to William Bevil, outgoing director. Will served two terms and has been a great help in the transition process. He has even offered to help serve as the Colorado state representative, since that position was vacant.

Getting the Rocky Mountain Region back on its feet is going to be a process and I will need help from all of you to get us going. Are you interested in helping with regional leadership? Do you want to be a state representative? Are you willing to help your state representative get interpreters together in your area? Do you have ideas for newsletter articles, webinars, or regional conferences? Are there interpretive job openings in your area that you want to advertise to Region members? If you answered yes to any of those questions, I want to hear from you! My email is szgraggen@hoglezoo.org. As region director, I am here to help you and connect you with other interpreters. I can’t do that without you!

  • Upcoming CIG workshops in the Region:
    • Bozeman, MT January 31-February 14
    • Salt Lake City, UT Feb 28-March 3
    • Littleton, CO March 7-10
    • Kalispell, MT May 22-25

Thank you for your support and I hope to hear from and meet many of you in the coming year.

Suzanne Zgraggen

Director, Rocky Mountain Region

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

